In My Kitchen

Food, Faith and all things Family

Adapted Mind Online Math Program Review

5 Comments

Three of our kids have used AdaptedMind to work on some of their math coursework for the last couple months.  I first found the program while searching for printable math worksheets to use in our homeschooling.  Since AdaptedMind offered a free trial month, I decided to see how it worked.   I’m not exaggerating when I say that we went from, “Do we have to do math today?” to “Mom, can I do some more math today?”

General Information:

  • AdaptedMind is an online subscription based math program for grades 1-6.
  • Students earn badges as they master each new math concept.  
  • The site tracks each student’s progress and can “assign” problems based on what skills need improvement.
  • Student progress is summarized on one, easy-to-read page.

Pros:

  • Offers a free trial month.
  • Parents can enroll up to 5 children under one account.
  • Each child is assigned a login name and password.  However, it is easy to change users without having to log in and out.
  • The account is easy to manage from the “My Account” button.
  • The parent is sent a daily progress email for each student.
  • Pages are uncluttered and easy to navigate; no busy adds or hard to find indexes fill the screen.
  • Lessons are organized by category, i.e. Addition, Time, Measurement, Geometry, etc.
  • Video instruction from Khan Academy and others is offered.
  • Students work at their own pace; work is not timed and skills can be practiced in any order.
  • Students can work online or select printable worksheets.
  • Incentive badges have creative names and cool designs.
  • Offers state standards pages, however, not all states are available yet.

Cons:

  • Monthly fee – not exorbitant and you can enroll up to 5 students, but nine months of use would still cost more than most curriculums.
  • Mastery of a skill is granted if the first 6 problems in an area are answered correctly.  If the student gets problems incorrect a greater number of correct problems are required to achieve mastery.  I prefer to see a broader spectrum of practice problems conquered before I consider an area successfully mastered.
  • Problems in the measurement skills can be subjective.  The questions do require the student to think and evaluate the answer, but some answers are going to depend on the student’s frame of reference.  For example, a pot could hold either 4 cups or 4 quarts depending on what kind of pot you assume.  Your student may not visualize the same pot the computer does and their answer be considered wrong.  The program also seems to think that zero degrees Fahrenheit is too cold for penguins and polar bears!
  • A graphic is missing on occasion; sometimes a graphic is too small to be useful.

Conclusions:

Discovering AdaptedMind has really been a blessing for us.  Working on math skills has become more of a fun challenge than a bitter struggle.  My two third graders have really enjoyed the opportunity to use the computer and accumulate badges for various levels of mastery.  They like to look ahead to see what is required to earn the next badge.  My math-minded kindergartener has nearly mastered the First Grade skills.  Of course, I read him the questions and entered most answers for him while he stayed on his feet in perpetual motion beside me!  (An audio button is available at this level, but I preferred to assist him.)

My kids do not care for the video lessons provided.  They find it easier to understand my explanation of the skills.  I am happy to do that for them and let the program provide the practice problems.

I do not read the daily progress emails since I stay personally involved with what they are currently working on.  Otherwise, they will rack up lots of badges by continuing to practice the 0 and 1 times tables over and over!  I also choose to require  a minimum of 10-20 problems per skill to make sure they have a chance to encounter a variety of problem options.

I do think AdaptedMind is well designed program and I expect the few quirks noted can be ironed out over time.  I don’t know how long we will continue to use it, but it has proved to be a valuable asset for the last couple months.

Disclaimer:  I was offered a free month of Adapted Mind  for writing this review.  This has not affected my opinion of the program.

5 thoughts on “Adapted Mind Online Math Program Review

  1. Yes! This is exactly the sort of thing I was hoping for :-) The detailed pros and cons list is so helpful. Thank you!

  2. Thank you for writing this review. I am looking for programs, books, or worksheets that will help my sons over the summer before the beginning of the next school year, and thought something like this might be helpful. Thanks again.

  3. Very insightful! I am going to sign up in order to help my daughter stay at level during the summer break. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.