In My Kitchen

Food, Faith and all things Family

Our Many Colored Weeks – Noticing the Rainbow Around Us

Leave a comment

source: D Sharon Pruitt

source: D Sharon Pruitt

We’re spending each of the next six or seven weeks focusing on a color of the rainbow. ( I haven’t decided if indigo and violet will be two weeks or get lumped into one week of purple.)  My two girls are both three years old and fairly color savvy.  They love to notice all the “matches” around them, and we often talk about the colors of objects.  I don’t consider it imperative that we make sure they know their colors at this stage.  I do, however want to make a priority of planning ideas that they will have fun with.  I spend a lot of time planning and doing school work with their older brothers, and sometimes it just seems like the young ones get left out or pushed aside.

I’m sure color recognition will be strengthened throughout our adventure, but my main focus is three-fold:

  1. Spend time having fun with the younger members of our family
  2. Notice the wonderful variety of color that God has placed into our world
  3. Encourage gratitude for simple blessings

Our times will include, among other things, reading, eating, nature walks and artwork.  I will plan to post about each color as we complete it.  For now I will leave you with a few of our favorite multi-colored books and games.

BOOKS

Hailstones and halibut bones by Mary O’Neill (we have an out of print version; I’m not familiar with the illustrations in the newer ones)

Planting a Rainbow by Lois Ehlert

Color Zoo by Lois Ehlert

Freight Train by Donald Crews

Brown Bear, Brown Bear by Eric Carle

Vincent’s Colors

GAMES

UNO

Dutch Blitz (OK – this one is not for the young ones, but the big guys have started to enjoy it with me!)

Jumping Pixies

Duplo Legos

Andrew loved making unique lego creations out of each color.

Andrew loved making lego creations out of a single color.

Leave a Reply

