In My Kitchen

Food, Faith and all things Family

Thoughts for a Thursday – 10 Minutes for Tea

Leave a comment

coffee_mug_wickenden_flickr_cc

“My soul, wait in silence for God only, for my hope is from Him.”  Psalm 62:5

The world is full of chaos and confusion.  Our house is full of noise and commotion.  My head has an endless litany of conversation swirling about.  Yet God calls us to be still . . . not just to be still, but to be still and remember that He is God (Psalm 46:10).

For the last couple weeks I’ve been trying to take 10 minutes somewhere in the middle of my day to do that.  To remember that God reigns over the chaos and confusion of the world.   That God reigns in the noise and commotion of our house.  I also want God to reign over the conversation in my head.  Taking 10 minutes to wrap my hands around a warm cup of tea, close my eyes and take a few deep breaths helps orient my mind, my heart, my soul back toward God.

I reflect on God’s incomparable character and remember that He alone is worthy of highest praise.  I look for His blessings and am thankful that He cares for me.  I consider that only through His abundant grace and unlimited wisdom will I successfully navigate the rest of my day .  My heart returns to hoping in God.

So, find a quiet spot to sit.  Take ten minutes to close your eyes to the mess around you.  Reflect on the character of God, Jesus Christ, the same yesterday, today and forever (Hebrews 13:8).  Remember that “tho’ the wrong seems oft so strong” in our world, maybe in your home, “God is the ruler yet.”

“Our soul waits for the Lord; He is our help and our shield.  For our heart rejoices in Him, because we trust in His holy name.  Let Thy lovingkindness, O Lord, be upon us, according as we have hoped in Thee.”  Psalm 33:20-21

Leave a Reply

