In My Kitchen

Food, Faith and all things Family

The Lord Is Good

Leave a comment

DSC_0511

“The Lord is good, tell it wherever you go.

The Lord is good, tell it that others may know.

Tell of His goodness and tell of His love;

Tell of His mercy from heaven above.

The Lord is good, tell it wherever you go.”

We’ve had a couple hard weeks, but these words have played often in my heart over the last couple days.  It’s fairly common for Sunday’s songs to echo throughout my week.  These words, though, I haven’t heard in ages!  I think they are from a Good News Backyard Bible Club I would have participated in long ago.

Goodness is one of God’s essential qualities and He does good things for me.  Placing these words in my heart is one of them.  They’re not magic.  They haven’t made the trial disappear. They haven’t diminished the challenges.  They have helped me shift my focus away from the struggles and onto the good things that are part of every day. For truly, even in the hard days the goodness of the Lord can be found.

I haven’t kept my eyes on the Lord’s goodness every minute.  Yet even when I am faithless, God remains faithful (2 Timothy 2:13).

The following lines are from Cecil Frances Alexander’s poem  All Things Bright and Beautiful.  The board  book All Creatures Great and Small illustrated by Naoko Stoop contains this poem.  It was a good one for us to have from the library this week.

“The tall trees in the greenwood, The meadows where we play,

The rushes by the water, We gather every day;

He gave us eyes to see them, And lips that we might tell,

How great is God almighty, Who has made all things well.”

DSC_0510

“I would have despaired unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.”  Psalm 27:13

Are you dwelling on your struggles or letting God redirect your focus onto His goodness?

Leave a Reply

